Lasik-eyes.co.uk respects the privacy of visitors to our online site. Lasik-eyes.co.uk will only collect personally identifiable data, such as your name, address, telephone number, or e-mail address, when it is voluntarily submitted to us. Lasik-eyes.co.uk and/or the companies we may hire will use this information to comply with your request for information. From time to time, we may refer to that information to better understand your needs and how we can improve our services. We may use that information to contact you. We will not sell or otherwise transfer your personally identifiable information to any third party without your consent.

The Lasik-eyes.co.uk website also uses information in aggregate form to track the total number of visitors to our site, the number of visitors to each page of our site, and the domain names of our visitors’ Internet service providers. No personally identifiable information is available in this process.

The Lasik-eyes.co.uk website may use a technology called “cookies”. A cookie is a token that a server gives to your browser when you access a website. Cookies are capable of storing many types of data. Cookies help provide additional functionality to the site or to help us analyse site usage more accurately. For instance, our server may set a cookie that keeps you from having to enter a password more than once during a visit to one of our sites. In all cases in which cookies are used, we will not collect personally identifiable information except with your explicit permission.

If at any time you wish to stop receiving e-mails or other consumer communications from Lasik-eyes.co.uk, or if you have submitted personally identifiable information through the Lasik-eyes.co.uk website and would like to have that information deleted from our records, please notify us. If you have any comments or concerns regarding the use of information provided to Lasik-eyes.co.uk via an Internet site, please contact the Webmaster.

The Lasik-eyes.co.uk website is not intended or designed to attract children under the age of 13. We do not collect personally identifiable data from any person we know to be under the age of 13.

As a convenience to our visitors, the Lasik-eyes.co.uk’s site currently contains links to a number of sites that we believe may offer useful information. The privacy policies and procedures described here do not apply to those sites. We suggest contacting these sites directly for information on their data collection and distribution policies.

Any changes in the Lasik-eyes.co.uk Internet privacy policy will be promptly communicated on this page.

Menu
Find A Quality Laser Eye Clinic In Your Area

100% Free 1 Minute Quote Service

Step 1 of 2

50%
We keep your information Safe & Secure. Privacy Policy

Rating

from 1602 reviews

Submit Review

The first Ultralase clinic was opened in January 1991 at the Clatterbridge Hospital near Chester. At the time, all treatments performed were Photorefractive Keratotomy, or PRK, until the Lasik procedure was introduced in 1995.

With the introduction of Lasik, and the clear advantages it demonstrated for certain patients, Ultralase went through a period of dramatic growth through 2002.

2003 Ultralase introduced the revolutionary UltraPlus treatment with Wavefront technology, giving patients visual outcomes far surpassing those of standard laser treatments. Ultralase became the first provider to have all treatment outcomes verified by independent audit.

In March 2009, the commitment to clinical excellence led Ultralase to become the first UK provider to have all Great Britain surgeons certified in Laser Refractive Surgery by the Royal College of Ophthalmologists (RCOphth).

Comprehensive Aftercare

Your care doesn’t stop after your treatment – Ultralase provide you with all necessary aftercare and monitor your vision at every stage, free of charge, until you’re discharged.

Every effort is made to deliver optimal vision however this does not cover natural changes to your eyes or any complication or diseases not connected to your surgery.

Surgeons...

Reviews...

Rating Date
23 Dec 2002

It is now just over 10 months since I had bi-lateral LASIK Hammersmith, Feb 15 02, by Vinod Gupta, see my previous reports. Was discharged by Ultralase after 6 months as I had a very good result and unlikely to change for the worse. I am still entitled to the 12 month aftercare though, and I'm sure if a problem arose after this time they would be most helpful.

I think its important to point out to prospective patients that at Ultralase the Optometrists do all of the pre and post operation examinations. I have not been examined by the same Optometrist twice in a row, if ever. Some are pleasant and helpful, others less so. You only meet the surgeon on the day of the operation and never again, unless you have re-treatment or complications ..... which may or may not be your perception (i.e. not a perfect result but surgeon thinks its within normal parameters..)

Have had many eye tests for work related reasons in the last 10 months. The worst I've had is 6/5 L and 6/6 R. I had very dry eyes that day and was dehydrated , and also because of in-car heating and air-conditioning at eye clinic. Airports are the worst for this.

Both before and since I have been tested at 6/4 both eyes. However as per original post the right eye is still generally worse in vision quality even though I can read 6/4 (last week had a test and could make out 7 letters out of 8 on the 6/4 line with right eye, all of them with left eye.
I'm past the dry eyes stage except occasionally, and then mainly upon waking and for the first hour awake.
Night driving is fine and didn't have problems except in first post-operative week.
Looking at video clock in darkened room is ok - a little blurry, or poor contrast , its 12 FT AWAY, BUT DVD PLAYER has a clock with smaller but brighter digits and is easier to read. This naturally fluctuates so sometimes very clear and easy, sometimes have to concentrate a bit or rest eyes first. Exactly like contacts and glasses when I was wearing them. Clocks are easier to read looking directly rather than at angles, just like before, right?

As its now Christmas season with lots of lights I find much less glare than I used to with specs. Red lights have a small amount of halo, BUT none at all with white, green or other colours. After the first week, bright white light was the worst in quality. Now I can see 'into' the light and its clear, whereas with specs it used to be more of a blob.

All in all I am pleased and I think its important to get your results in perspective, to what you had before corrected and uncorrected, and in relation to their refractive procedures. There were no guarantees given out beforehand and Vie had better than expected result.

I would recommend it to anyone who is deemed medically suitable and cannot see better than 6/18 or 6/24 which is probably adequate for sports. If you can see well enough to drive(6/12) is it really worth the risk? You must ask yourself this.

But I would say do your research thoroughly, have a consultation with more than one clinic, make sure you surgeon has done several thousand procedures, and do not go to a clinic that does other things in addition to eye surgery, such as hair removal.

The surgeon should also have an extensive background in general eye care and is not merely a GP or mid-grade hospital doctor who is hoping to do to LASIK. Ask him how many corneal grafts he has done, which might throw him, but if he is a specialist he will have done this many times. Is your surgeon a member or fellow of the Royal college of surgeons or Ophthalmologists? If he is new to refractive surgery without an extensive Ophthalmic background Id say forget it and move on.

Ask as many questions as you feel comfortable with. Bring a list in with you and a pencil to make notes. Do not let the surgeon put you off. I asked Optimax a list of about 12 questions after a consultation there in writing, and they were reluctant to answer them finally stating that if I wasn't sure or aware of the risks not to go ahead. How do you know the risks if they wont answer the questions?

Amazing since if they had answered my questions in the way Ultralase did I probably would have used them and am very glad I didn't. By the way, they charged me £60 for a consultation fee, on their national booking line (which is only redeemed against an operation) but the sign outside their Bristol Clinic said FREE CONSULTATION. Keep the money Optimax.

Finally I would say you generally get what you pay for, and its worth spending nearly £2000+ to ensure a good surgeon, rather than £1500 to get an average one. If a clinic has many endorsements from the public as well as celebrities then it is a good indication of good surgeons (use the surgeons who operated on the celeb's).

23 Dec 2002

I was treated at Birmingham last month and after the 1st three days my eyesight settled down. I can read to the 5th line with ease ( much better than before) I've had no side effects to speak of and I recommend LASIK to everyone !!

19 Dec 2002

Nearly six months since my treatment. I had my eyes treated by Mr Gupta at Tottenham Court Road after have all the other stuff done at Chelmsford. Both eyes are a tad dry, particularly when I'm tired. Not a great problem though - preserve free drops are great!
Vision is great and I keep reminding myself that I used to wear glasses! I have kept my glasses and from time to time I put them on and wondered how the hell I wore them in the first place! Nope - no problems here! TC

13 Dec 2002

I underwent LASIK treatment at the Ultralase clinic in Tottenham Court Road one week ago with excellent results. My prescription was -3.50 with a mild astigmatism in both eyes. From the initial consultation I have been very impressed with the service I received from Ultralase, all of the staff have been incredibly helpful and able to answer my questions. The treatment itself was performed by Pascal Annonier and his team who were all very professional. At worst the treatment could be described as a bit unpleasant, but certainly not painful, and for me well worth the results. The day after treatment my vision was 20/20 in my right eye and slightly better in my left eye although a bit hazy, this cleared after a day or so. A week later my vision remains better than 20/20 and very clear with no night vision problems. The only side effect I have had is occasional stinging as my eyes settle, partly due to the preservative in the antibiotic drops. I am very satisfied with the treatment I received and thrilled with the results.

12 Dec 2002

It's been two years since having LASIK at Ultralase in Leeds and my sight is still as clear as ever. It's one of the best decisions I've ever made. Some of my friends have also had their eyes done there, and they've all got 20/20 vision too. I can't recommend Ultralase highly enough.

10 Dec 2002

Nearly 12 months since I had LASIK for -4.25,-3.75 with astigmatism. I have excellent vision in L eye and a -.25 in R eye which is noticeable when tired etc. but not a big problem. I still use preservative-free drops for dryness which can markedly affect vision. No night vision problems at all. I'm glad I had it done. However, being a nurse, I do think that those considering it should make a rational decision to proceed based on statistics / facts and not be swayed by evangelical urges to "just do it".

I had both eyes treated by Murad Mossa at Tottenham Court Road on 29th November. I was -5.00 right and -4.50 left. I was very nervous but the staff were great, the actual op was fine the suction ring a little uncomfortable but it was far more pleasant than a trip to the dentist. The next day I could see but things were a bit blurry. Now about a week later my right eye is perfect but my left has -0.5 still left. It is a bit strange as I have two different views of the world as my brain can't put them both together. Ultralase says my left eye should sort itself out. I do have a little haloing but my vision is no where near as good as it was with my contacts. All in all I'm a little disappointed as I have read about so many people having 20/20 the day after. I'm just hoping my left eye will correct itself eventually. Also the surgical tape that you secure the lovely space goggles with leaves my face with big red welts the next day but I'd rather have that than something go wrong.

I have had a consultation at Tottenham Ct Rd clinic and have been told that I am suitable for LASIK. I found the consultant there very helpful and she answered my millions of questions! Very happy about this because I'm always wanted to have this op, don't like wearing glasses/contacts and have to due to my high prescription (approx -5.5).

I've been told that there is a 50% chance that I could suffer from halo vision i.e. thin fuzzy light around fluorescent light at night-time. Have been told that the effect is subjective.

I would be very grateful if anyone could let me know of their halo vision experiences and if they thought it was worth having this halo vision to not require glasses anymore? Also, my surgeon will be Pascal Annonier (if I decide to go ahead with it in Jan). If anyone has any info/comments I would be so grateful.
Will write again about what decision I have made and if I do have op, how it all went.

03 Dec 2002

Glad to hear it went well, Angela, I fully share your sentiments - especially re the rain! However be careful chopping up onions, I chopped one up the other day and my right eye cried drops bigger than I've ever seen in my life! I think LCRS should add that to their list of things you cant do for a month after surgery!

I keep trying to take my glasses off to go to bed - and look for them in the morning sometimes when its dark. Old habits die hard I guess.

I had my two week check-up on Monday, my right eye has absolutely no short-sightedness, it is 0.00 and I am so pleased. I do need secondary surgery on my left eye though, so there should still be improvement in my overall sight. Booked in for January 17th.

I had LASIK treatment on 26th November at the Chelmsford clinic, the treatment was performed by Suzannah Boytha.

The treatment I received was very professional and I found all of the staff to be very pleasant and friendly. I found the operation itself to be pain free but pretty unpleasant, however well worth it. My prescription was -3.75 and -4.75 but now I think I can see as well as I could with my contacts. My eyes feel a little dry from time to time, but nothing that a few eye drops don't sort out.

I highly recommend Ultralase to anyone that is considering LASIK.

02 Dec 2002

I had my eyes 'LASIKed' last Friday (it is now Monday). My prescription was not particularly bad - -2.75 and -3.00 with astigmatism. I visited the Chester clinic and found them to be helpful and caring. There was no hard sell and they explained the procedure carefully.

2 weeks later I went in for my treatment. Again the staff were very good and prompt. I was treated by Mr Chatterjee. He was very efficient and explained the procedure as he went on. I had small eye sockets and so the suction was uncomfortable - it didn't last long though.

Next day I went for my check up. I could see the bottom line with my right eye and the second from bottom with my left! My eyes do not feel dry, gritty or uncomfortable - only a little tired at the end of the day.

Today I can safely say that my sight is as good (if not better) than it was with glasses.

I am delighted with results and would highly recommend Ultralase and there 'ultra service'!!

01 Dec 2002

I had been wearing glasses since primary school and later (in my twenties) began to wear contact lenses. I had a fairly strong prescription and as such had always found wearing glasses all the time a real 'bind'. Moving to contact lenses was ok but I really wore them far too much and my optician would often warn me about prolonged use.

Laser Eye Treatment seemed the answer and although I was under the impression that my sight was too bad to be corrected (from research I had done a few years before) I decided to investigate more fully in late 2000. I discovered that technology had moved on since my earlier research and the LASIK procedure would be appropriate for me.

In December 2000 I had the LASIK treatment with Ultralase in Leeds. The way I was looked after was superb - lots of empathy and TLC. I was given lots of advice and on my day of treatment, and during those first few days, nothing came as a surprise. It was truly amazing. The treatment was really painless. After the anaesthetic wore off my eyes felt a little gritty, as I had been told they would, but this soon cleared and that first evening I simply rested as much as I could.

The following morning was fantastic and still rates as one of the greatest moments I have experienced. Waking up and immediately being able to see things in the distance. I mean immediately on opening my eyes - before having to pick up a pair of spectacles or resort to contact lens insertion. This was the first time in my memory that I had been able to do this.

I visited the clinic that day for my first aftercare check and was advised that it was now ok for me to drive. I have since completed my visits to Ultralase but every time I was treated with great care and attention.

Almost two years on and it is sometimes difficult to remember that I ever wore glasses. Only when writing this does the miracle again come alive - so simple, so painless and so quick - but so life changing. Thank you!

Wow!! I had my second eye done yesterday and I'm still on a high over my 'new' eyes! I can't thank David Jory and all the staff at the surgery enough. I was more nervous this time round, not sure why, but there was no need to be. My prescription in my left eye has gone from -6.5 to +0.25. The second op was more painful, and the pain set in immediately after too. painkillers ensured I had a good nights sleep, though. I am officially no longer a glasses wearer, which gives me great pleasure to write. My eyes are working really well together, and I feel confident enough to drive, even at night. I can now go swimming with my daughter, instead of just watching, take a shower and see the soap, cook without my glasses steaming up, walk in the rain and still be able to see, snuggle up to hubby without my glasses getting in the way, the list is endless. I am so pleased with my result and would happily give 10 stars, if I could. I very nearly went with Accuvision ( the only other place who would accept me), but I value the health of my eyes even more than the outcome of the op and with Microsurgery the risks are minimal. No slicing of the cornea or removing tissue, so no chance of problems connected with these issues in the future. With a bit of luck, I shall be ready to put eye make-up on just in time for Christmas festivities!!

29 Nov 2002

I Had my surgery done by Mr Gupta 2 days ago at the new St Albans clinic (-5.00 right, -3.25 left)... I had been extremely nervous in the run up, and during the little sleep I was getting, I kept waking up and thinking "What am I thinking of?". The fact that about 7 people at work hadn't had it done and had not been blinded and were happy with it had persuaded me to do it. I had also been impressed with Ultralase service and lack of pressure into having the treatment at the consultations.

The optometrist was very uncertain as to whether I could have it done as I already had a dry left eye and there was some corneal scarring. They told me to come back and see Mr Gupta who had a look at it for 30 seconds and said it was fine - a quick decision was very reassuring, and I got the feeling he was only going to do it if he was certain.

After much gibbering paranoia I went for it. The nurse was very reassuring which relaxed my nerves and in I went. It was NOT a pleasant experience, but over in 10 minutes. Whilst horrendous, I did feel in safe hands and when it was over I could see enough to think "this is going to be OK". Sight started coming back and Mr Gupta pronounced that he was "very happy" with it - fine by me! Went home with the missus who couldn't park my car, but thankfully I could see well enough to do a mean reverse park.

Took it easy and could see quite well after 4 hours. Strapped on the night guards and slept (worrying if I would wake up blind - thankfully not). Was OK next day, but a little light sensitive.

Went for a check up the next day, which was short but just to clear up that there were no problems. Still light sensitive on day 2, but vision still improving.

Back to work the day after (today) not too great focussing on the PC screen but got by - bit of a headache, but I probably overdid it. I feel that this will improve. Driving at night was fine, but the lights do have quite a halo effect.

All in all I have been impressed with the results but I know that it is not over yet. Got to make sure that I look after the eyes and don't get an infection - or more likely, get drunk and do something awful to them. If it carries on like this I would definitely move it to a 5 star review.

Ultralase were very professional and I got the impression that they weren't prepared to compromise health for cash. Rather than say "go and do it" have a read of this sit and make your own mind up. Fingers crossed I will go through the recovery period without any problems.

26 Nov 2002

I did it! First one done last Friday, and it’s true no pain! So quick too. I was sore after and needed the pain killers but after that just scratchy feeling. I have to admit I was tearful when I removed the patch and could see across the room!! Long distance vision is quite good. Still blurry, early days though. My sight seems to improve during the day (opposite of how it should be) so I popped back on Monday to check it out. David Jory was more than happy to see me and run through some tests. I found this reassuring. It’s just the waiting game now, time for things to settle and readjust. Amazing though I can actually walk about without glasses! Problematic with computer, trying an eye patch out today (no doubt the parrot jokes will follow) and will remove lens from glasses. Good luck for Friday Angela

Find A Quality Laser Eye Clinic In Your Area

100% Free 1 Minute Quote Service

Step 1 of 2

50%
We keep your information Safe & Secure. Privacy Policy